Plain Values
One Minute with Marlin
When I'm Gone
0:00
-2:11

When I'm Gone

One Minute with Marlin

In 2012, Joey and Rory Feek recorded a song that has touched more people’s lives than they or anyone could have imagined. Initially, the gospel-singing, overall-wearing duo had Rory sing the song to his wife Joey, but it didn’t feel quite right. So they turned it around and imagined what it would be like if she had to leave this world and he was left behind without her. 

In March of 2016, Rory said goodbye to his wife and was left behind with their two-year-old daughter, Indiana. Joey asked the Lord to see Indy’s second birthday. Little Indy's birthday is February 17 and on March 4, Joey breathed for the first time on the other side of the river. Her pain gone forever, the goodbye in the picture holds inexplicable meaning for me. And so many questions. 

Ecclesiastes 7 talks about it being better to be in a house of mourning than a house of feasting. I learned that verse when I was a young guy and for some reason, it never leaves me too far behind. Every time I listen to the soft piano and these hopeful words, I remember how amazingly short and unpredictable life is. What wonderful surprises await us after we take our first breath on the other side? I can hardly wait to see, but until then, I will love life and live life to the full.

As always, may you find joy in the simple things. Learn more about our work and subscribe at www.plainvalues.com.

When I’m Gone Lyrics:

A bright sunrise will contradict the heavy fault that weighs you down
In spite of all the funeral songs
The birds will make their joyful sounds
You wonder why the earth still moves
You wonder how you’ll carry on
But you’ll be okay on that first day when I’m gone
Dusk will come with fireflies and whippoorwill and crickets call
And every star will take its place
And silvery gown and purple shawl
You’ll lie down in our big bed
Dread the dark and dread the dawn
But you’ll be alright on that first night when I’m gone
You will reach for me in vain.’
You’ll be whispering my name
As if sorrow were your friend
And this world so in the end
But life will call with daffodil
And morning glorious blue skies
You’ll think of me some memory
And softly smile to your surprise
And even though you love me still
You will know where you belong
Just give it time we’ll both be fine
When I’m gone.

0 Comments
Plain Values
One Minute with Marlin
One minute episodes with Marlin Miller, the founder and publisher of Plain Values magazine.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Recent Episodes