Plain Values
One Minute with Marlin
The Conversation is the Relationship
1
0:00
-2:19

The Conversation is the Relationship

One Minute with Marlin
1

“I need more friends.” That’s what the back of my business card says, and I put it there for a few reasons. First, it’s the truth, and secondly, it’s a great icebreaker to start a relationship with almost anyone I meet. Transparency, vulnerability, and its unexpectedness all draw folks toward a conversation. In my opinion, friendship is one of the most valuable things God ever created.

A couple years ago, Kevin, a friend of mine, introduced me to a good friend of his, and today I am so glad he did. But to tell you the truth, the only reason I agreed to the meeting was because I trust Kevin, and if he says I need to meet someone I will do it. Period. Back to the point. Mike has become a trusted advisor and friend—someone I know I can call anytime about anything. There is so much wisdom under that white hair! Talented communicators have a way of loading a statement with levels of meaning, and Mike is in that boat for sure… “the conversation is the relationship.” It took me a few times hearing that phrase and then chewing on it before I really understood how deep it goes. “The conversation is the relationship.” Think about the last few chats you’ve had with family, a friend, or a total stranger. What did you talk about? What does that relationship look like?

Another friend told me he doesn’t think real impact or change can be made in someone’s worldview or opinion without genuine, honest conversation, which in my experience only happens in smaller more private settings. We have the opportunity to make a difference in people’s lives, but only when we engage with thoughtful conversation.

If you read between the lines, you will notice I have more friends than brains! But that’s ok. That’s how I learn the most, and finally, isn’t that point of living in community?

As always, may you find joy in the simple things. This is Marlin with Plain Values magazine. Learn more about our work, and subscribe, at plainvalues.com.

1 Comment
Plain Values
One Minute with Marlin
One minute episodes with Marlin Miller, the founder and publisher of Plain Values magazine.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Recent Episodes